Book: Me Before You

I bought this book last year but couldn’t find time to read it. My plate had been crazy with tonnes of assignments, revisions, group projects, graduation thesis and student council. Its’ semester break now so I’ve decided that I need to catch a breath and I need to detach from anything academic. Not gonna read anything engineering related anymore period.

I’ve been staring and wanting to read this book but I knew I couldn’t focus and finish it before. Finally I started reading and it took me three days to finish. I tried squeezing in reading amidst my other routines so I could finish asap. This is the given synopsis.

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

One thing that I realise I enjoy the story is that I felt an overwhelming flow of emotions at the ending. That is a rare response from me because I swear I lack of emotions. I don’t cry at movies or books and I’m not even impressed of what my friends claimed as the best movie ever :-/ mihmihmih. I don’t cry at the end but I can somehow feel the sorrow and it feels like I’m mourning for whatever happened to the guy.

The cover and synopsis however gave me an idea that the story is about some cheesy and cliche love story between a rich man and an average jane. The synopsis tells nothing about what comes next after the accident, which covers 90% of the story. I knew nothing about quadrilepgic or the seriousness of the case. From my reading Will is wheelchair-bound, has to be spoon fed, cannot shift his body on his own nor controlling his own bowel and bladder. Every time I caught on his limitations, I was like.. really?... and then… that too?… 😐 That sounds really terrible and I really sympathise with what the accident had turned him into.

What impressed me the most is that Lou falls for this guy. The guy that I feel so sorry for because he’s got so much plans for his life but he’s spending his life on the wheelchair hating every second of it. When Lou started working for Will, I understand his anger and raving but it goes on until….. the end. This book feels real because she falls for a guy when he’s at his worst. But then again does it happen in real life? I have so much respect for Lou. She loves Will so much that she wants to be with him even with his current state. While I’m reading, I couldn’t stop hoping that he will get better. In my mind, it was all, “no it cant be that bad, he will get cured..” But, it hit me hard when I learned that he is incurable. He’s never gonna be like a normal person again. No running nor walking for the rest of his life.

So I think, okay he cannot be cured but there must be something else, something good at the end of it. I so hope that he regain his will to live. But here’s the catch. If he wants to live he wants it like everybody else. Healthy and able to move around or else he rather die. But I really really hope that he changes his mind with Lou around. I was very close to the end but I stopped and I peaked at the last page. I was so surprised that all the effort put into, all Lou and Will’s family trying to avoid amounted to that ending. I felt angry but anyways, I hope there’s another side to the story and kept reading on…..

.

.

.

.

.

There’s no other side. That is all there is. What makes me so angry is that Will rejected everything he had in his life and chose to dwell in dissatisfaction for his disable life, as if it was not worth living. I know I can’t never experience his sufferings because I might decide the same thing. But to think that I’m one of those people who keeps on hoping that he will continue to live, makes me feels unappreciated. Even with his final moments with Lou, he was inconsolable. I still think to this day, he never should have done it. He had so much to look forward in his life IF he could just think of the people who care and love him. I need to stop being mad at Will. It’s only a story!

p/s: Me Before You will be made into movie and released in two years and Sam Claflin will play Will. Good luck hating that Will! 😛

Leave a Reply

